In April, some of our members visited Ormskirk Magistrate’s Court for the last time. The Court closed its doors at the end of June.
3 May: After an interesting guided walk around the area known as the Ropewalks in Liverpool, the Athenaeum opened its doors to us for a tour and lunch. The Athenaeum was founded in 1797 as a library and newsroom for gentlemen. During its time it has acquired, usually from donations, an interesting collection of artefacts. We were able to see some recently discovered historical items such as an ‘1836 passport’ used as a bookmark, and the typewriter which belonged to the Liverpool born Nicholas Montserrat, who served in the Royal Navy in WW2, and who based his novel ‘The Cruel Sea‘ on his wartime experiences.
Visit to the Athenaeum in Liverpool
The Athenaeum has a unique library collection
7 June: A warm welcome awaited us in June at Fulwood Barracks, Preston, home of the Duke of Lancaster’s Regiment.
The Lancashire Infantry Museum at Fulwood Barracks
7 June: We travelled on to Lancashire Record Office and heard a fascinating presentation of our local history and had the opportunity to see and handle some of our precious documents, maps and ledgers, linking us with our ancestors.
Lancashire Archives tells the story!
Examining the record books
11 June: We enjoyed a Tour and Tales around the Ribble Valley on Saturday 11th June, visiting a few ancient Inns. According to the Ordnance Survey map we were in the centre of the UK when we visited Dunsop Village. Yes, we did have some rain puddles.
Puddleducks and Puddles!
5 July: On our last outdoor visit we walked in the footsteps of Agnes, Kitty and James listening to some of the history of our three humble local history representatives. The photo shows us next to the statue of Kitty Wilkinson in St. George’s Hall.
Agnes Jones worked tirelessly to improve the conditions in Britain’s largest workhouse situated on Brownlow Hill, Liverpool. Kitty Wilkinson is remembered for her selfless humanitarian work especially during the cholera epidemic of 1832. James Carling was a pavement artist known as the `little chalker`.
Kitty Wilkinson’s statue in St. George’s Hall
Much appreciation to our photographers for taking and supplying the photos.